West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority Appointments to Committees and Panels 2008/2009

Authority (27 elected members)	Policy Planning Forum (27 elected members)	
(Con 14; Lab 10; Lib Dem 3)	(Con 14; Lab 10; Lib Dem 3)	
All Members to attend.	All Members to attend.	
Appointments Committee 9 elected members (Con 5, Lab 3, Lib Dem 1)		
Councillor	Substitute	
Howard [Chair]	Delaney	
Ward [Vice Chair]	S Davis	
Douglas-Maul	Gazey	
Turner	Ryder	
Stevenson	Robinson	
Hinton	Tagger	
G Davies	Idrees	
Spence	Clinton	
Eustace	Jones	

Executive Committee
8 elected members
(Con 5, Lab 2, Lib Dem 1)

Councillor	Substitute
Chair of the Authority [Cllr Howard]	Skinner
Vice Chair of the Authority [Cllr Ward]	Turner
Lead Member for Performance Management [Cllr S Davis]	Alden
Lead Member for Equality and Diversity [Cllr Ryder]	Gazey
Lead Member for Human Resources [Cllr Stevenson]	Douglas-Maul
Hinton	Mulhall
Idrees	Clinton
Eustace	Jones

Appeals Committee (6 elected members) (Con 3; Lab 2; Lib Dem 1)		
Councillor	Substitute	
Stevenson [Chair]	Ryder	
Douglas-Maul [Vice Chair]	Delaney	
Alden	Robinson	
G Davies	Hinton	
Idrees	Spence	
Ali Khan	Jones	

Audit Committee 5 members (3 Con, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)	
Councillor	Substitute
Turner (Chair)	Alden
Robinson (Vice-Chair)	Tweddle
Ward	Skinner
Spence	TBA
Jones	TBA
Independent Member:	N/A
Mr Ager	

Joint Consultative Panel (6 elected members + employee representatives) (Lab 2; Con 3; Lib Dem 1)		
Councillor	Substitute	
Stevenson	Robinson	
Douglas-Maul	Tweddle	
Sutton	Gazey	
O'Neill	Singh	
Chambers	G Davies	
Ali Khan	Jones	

Standards Committee (6 elected members + 3 Independent Persons) (Lab 2; Con 2; Lib Dem 2)	
Councillors	
Ryder	
Sutton	
Singh	
Idrees	
Jones	
Eustace	
Independent Members:-	
Mr Bagley, Mr Denny and Mr Topliss (Chair)	

OTHER APPOINTMENTS MADE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING

Position/Councillor

Lead Member for Equality and DiversityCllr Ryder

Deputy Lead Member for Equality and Diversity

Cllr Gazey

Lead Member for Performance ManagementCllr S Davis

Deputy Lead Member for Performance Management

Cllr Alden

Lead Member for Human Resources Cllr Stevenson

Deputy Lead Member for Human ResourcesDouglas-Maul

Appointments to Outside Bodies 2008/2009

West Midlands Regional Management Board* (3 representatives)

Chairman of the Authority (Councillor Howard)
Councillor Hinton
Councillor Jones

Local Government Association General Assembly (4 representatives)

Chairman of the Authority (Councillor Howard)
Vice Chair of the Authority (Councillor Ward)
Councillor Hinton
Councillor Eustace (or their nominees)

The Authority has five votes overall and these are allocated amongst members according to proportionality. In 2008/09 votes are allocated as follows:

Conservative 3, Labour 1, Liberal Democrat 1

Local Government Association - Fire Service Forum

(3 representatives)

Chairman of the Authority (Councillor Howard) Councillor Hinton Councillor Eustace (or their nominees).

• Local Government Association Urban Commission (2 representatives)

Councillor S Davis Chief Fire Officer (or their nominees)

(Note: only elected members may vote at meetings. Authorities may appoint two elected members or one member and one officer.)

West Midlands Local Government Association

Association - Observer Member

Chairman of the Authority (Substitute – Councillor Ward).

Provincial Council

Councillor Gazey (substitute tba)

Black Country Consortium (1 observer member)

(1 observer member)

Councillor Turner (or his nominee)

West Midlands Fire and Rescue Services Regional Control Centre Limited – Nominated Director

Councillor Howard

West Midlands Road Safety Partnership

Councillor Ward