WEST MIDLANDS FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

29 June 2015

1. MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2015/2016

Report of the Clerk and Monitoring Officer

RECOMMENDED

THAT the report be noted.

2. **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To advise of the appointments made by the constituent district councils to the Authority for 2015/2016.

3. **BACKGROUND**

The membership of the Authority for 2015/2016 is as set out in the Appendix.

4. **EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT**

In preparing this report, an initial Equality Impact Assessment is not required and has not been carried out.

5. **LEGAL IMPLICATIONS**

Fire and Rescue Authorities were first established by Section 26 of the Local Government Act, 1985, which provides that such authorities shall consist of members appointed by the metropolitan districts comprised in the relevant county. The number of members to be appointed by each district council is set out in Schedule 10 of that Act.

6. **FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS**

There are no direct financial implications.

Background Papers

Letters/emails from district councils.

The contact name for this report is Rosemary Jones, telephone number 0121 569 3896.

KAREN GOWREESUNKER CLERK

Membership of the West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority 2015/2016

Birmingham

| Councillor M Afzal (Labour) | Councillor G S Atwal (Labour) | Councillor D Barrie (Conservative) |
|-------------------------------|---|---------------------------------------|
| Councillor L Clinton (Labour) | Councillor N A Eustace (Liberal Democrat) | Councillor M Idrees* (Labour) |
| Councillor H Quinnen (Labour) | Councillor R Sealey (Conservative) | Councillor S Spence (Labour) |
| Councillor A Ward (Labour) | | |

Coventry

| Councillor C Miks** (Labour) | J | Councillor D Skinner (Conservative) |
|------------------------------|---|-------------------------------------|
| | | |

Dudley

| Councillor A Aston* | Councillor N Barlow | Councillor M Mottram** |
|---------------------|---------------------|------------------------|
| (Labour) | (Conservative) | (Labour) |
| | | |

Sandwell

| Councillor J Edwards* (Labour) | Councillor A Shackleton (Labour) | Councillor C Tranter** (Labour) |
|--------------------------------|--|---------------------------------|
|--------------------------------|--|---------------------------------|

Solihull

| | Councillor P Hogarth** (Conservative) |
|---|---------------------------------------|
| , | , |

Walsall

| Councillor S Craddock (UKIP) | Councillor B A Douglas-Maul** (Conservative) | Councillor A Young* (Labour) |
|------------------------------|--|------------------------------|
| | | |

Wolverhampton

| Councillor J Dehar** | Councillor P Singh | Councillor T Singh* |
|----------------------|--------------------|---------------------|
| (Labour) | (Conservative) | (Labour) |
| | | |

^{*} Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

Independent Member of the Audit Committee

| Mr M Ager | | |
|-----------|--|--|
| | | |

^{**} Substitute Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).