# WEST MIDLANDS FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

### **26 JUNE 2017**

### 1. MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2017/2018

Report of the Clerk.

#### **RECOMMENDED**

THAT the report be noted.

### 2. **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To advise of the appointments made by the constituent district councils to the Authority for 2017/2018.

## 3. **BACKGROUND**

The membership of the Authority for 2017/2018 is as set out in the Appendix.

# 4. **EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT**

In preparing this report, an initial Equality Impact Assessment is not required and has not been carried out.

## 5. **LEGAL IMPLICATIONS**

Fire and Rescue Authorities were first established by Section 26 of the Local Government Act, 1985, which provides that such authorities shall consist of members appointed by the metropolitan districts comprised in the relevant county. The number of members to be appointed by each district council is set out in Schedule 10 of that Act.

## 6. **FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS**

There are no direct financial implications.

# **Background Papers**

Letters/emails from district councils.

The contact name for this report is Julie Connor, telephone number 0121 380 6906.

Karen Gowreesunker CLERK

# <u>Membership of the West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority</u> 2017/2018

# Birmingham

Councillor Gurdial Singh Atwal (Labour)	Councillor David Barrie (Conservative)	Councillor Kate Booth (Labour)
Councillor Andy Cartwright (Labour)	Councillor Lynda Clinton** (Labour)	Councillor Neil Eustace (Liberal Democrat)
Councillor Mohammed Idrees*(Labour)	Councillor Robert Sealey (Conservative)	Councillor Sybil Spence(Labour)
Councillor Fiona Williams (Labour)		

# Coventry

Councillor Peter Male	Councillor Catherine	Councillor Seamus	
(Conservative)	Miks** (Labour)	Walsh* <i>(Labour)</i>	

# Dudley

Councillor Adam	Councillor Nicolas	Councillor Melvyn
Aston* (Labour)	Barlow (Conservative)	Mottram ** (Labour)

# Sandwell

Councillor John		Councillor Christopher
Edwards* (Labour)	Allcock (Labour)	Tranter ** (Labour)

## Solihull

Councillor P Hogarth** (Conservative)

### Walsall

Councillor Brian	Councillor Stephen	Councillor Ann
Douglas-Maul**	Craddock (UKIP)	Young* (Labour)
(Conservative)	,	,

## Wolverhampton

Councillor Greg	Councillor Paul Singh	Councillor Tersaim
Brackenridge **	(Conservative)	Singh* <i>(Labour)</i>
(Labour)		

<sup>\*</sup> Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

# **Independent Member of the Audit Committee**

Mr M Ager		

<sup>\*\*</sup> Substitute Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).