WEST MIDLANDS FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

10 OCTOBER 2022

1. MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2022/2023, QUESTIONS ON DISCHARGE OF FUNCTION AND MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

Report of the Clerk.

RECOMMENDED

- 1.1 THAT the appointment of Councillor Gavin Lloyd made by Coventry Council to the Authority for 2022/2023 be noted.
- 1.2 THAT the nomination of Councillor Catherine Miks by Coventry Council to answer questions on the discharge of the functions of the Authority as required by Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985, be approved.
- 1.3 THAT the changes to the membership of committees for 2022-2023, as per appendix 1, be approved.

2. **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

2.1 To advise of the appointment made by the Coventry Council to the Authority for 2022/2023. To nominate members to answer questions put in the course of proceedings of constituent Councils on the discharge of the Authority's functions (as required by Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985). To approve the changes made to the membership of committees for 2022-2023.

3. **BACKGROUND**

3.1 Following the sad passing of Councillor Seamus Walsh, at their Full Council on 6 September 2022, Coventry Council approved the appointment of Councillor Gavin Lloyd to the Authority for the remainder of 2022-2023. As a result of this new appointment, changes have been made to the membership of the Committees for

- 2022-2023, previously approved at the Fire Authority Annual General Meeting on 27 June 2022.
- 3.2 Under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985, arrangements have to be made for enabling questions on the discharge of the Authority's functions to be put in the course of the proceedings of any constituent district Council. Members of that Council can put questions to a Member who is nominated by the Authority for that purpose.

4. QUESTIONS ON THE DISCHARGE OF FUNCTIONS

4.1 Although the Authority has responsibility for nominating Members, it is normal practice to seek the views of the district councils as to the person they wish to see nominated for this purpose. The nominations received are set out below:-

Lead Member Substitute
Cllr Catherine Miks Cllr Gavin Lloyd

5. POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2022-2023

- 5.1 No changes have been made to the current political balance on the authority and its proportionality on Committees approved at the Fire Authority Annual General Meeting on Monday 27 June 2022. The proposed changes have only been made to the membership of Committees and Panels to reflect the change in membership, following the passing of Cllr Walsh.
- 5.2 The proposed changes to the membership of Committees and Panels can be seen in appendix 1 of this report.

6. **EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT**

6.1 In preparing this report, an initial Equality Impact Assessment is not required and has not been carried out.

7. **LEGAL IMPLICATIONS**

Coventry

7.1 Fire and Rescue Authorities were first established by Section 26 of the

Local Government Act, 1985, which provides that such authorities shall consist of members appointed by the metropolitan districts comprised in the relevant county.

7.2 Under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985, arrangements have to be made for enabling questions on the discharge of the Authority's functions to be put in the course of the proceedings of any constituent district Council.

8. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

8.1 There are no direct financial implications arising from this report.

9. **BACKGROUND PAPERS**

- 9.1 Fire Authority 27 June 2022 reports:
 - Membership of the Authority 2022-23
 - Political Balance and Membership of Committees and Panels
 - Questions on the Discharge of Functions

The contact name for this report is Tom Embury, Deputy Clerk to the Authority.

Karen Gowreesunker
CLERK OF THE AUTHORITY

Appendix 1

West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority Appointments to Committees and Panels 2022/2023

Authority	Policy Planning Forum
15 elected members &	15 elected members &
3 co-opted members	3 co-opted members
(Lab 10; Con 5)	(Lab 10; Con 5)
All Members to attend	All Members to attend.
1 Independent	1 Independent
3 Observers	3 Observers

Appointments, Standards and Appeals Committee 7 elected members plus 1 Observer (Lab 5; Con 2) At least one Member from each Authority

Councillor	Substitute
Cllr Rizwan Jalil (Chair)	Cllr Zahir Hussain
Cllr Greg Brackenridge (Vice-Chair)	Cllr Jas Dehar
Cllr Zafar Iqbal	Cllr Sybil Spence
Cllr Catherine Miks	Cllr Gavin Lloyd
Cllr Ann Young	Cllr Gurdial Singh Atwal
Cllr Ian Kettle	Cllr Peter Miller
Cllr Peter Hogarth MBE	Cllr David Barrie
Independent Person	Standards Items Only
Ray Tomkinson (Observer)	

Scrutiny Committee (7 elected members) (Lab 5; Con 2) Plus 1 Co-optee (Non Voting) – Sarah Middleton ABCA		
Councillor	Substitute	
Cllr Sybil Spence (Chair)	Cllr Zafar Iqbal	
Cllr Gurdial Singh Atwal (Vice-	Cllr Zafar Iqbal	
Chair)		
Cllr Jas Dehar	Cllr Catherine Miks	
Cllr Zahir Hussain	Cllr Rizwan Jalil	
Cllr Ann Young	Cllr Rizwan Jalil	
Cllr Vera Waters	Cllr Peter Hogarth MBE	
Cllr David Barrie	Cllr lan Kettle	
ABCA – Sarah Middleton	Non-Voting	

Collaboration and Transformation Committee 7 elected members plus 1 Co-opted Member (Lab 5; Con 2) At least one Member from each Authority		
Councillor	Substitute	
Cllr Jas Dehar (Chair)	Cllr Greg Brackenridge	
Cllr Zahir Hussain (Vice-Chair)	Cllr Rizwan Jalil	
Cllr Gavin Lloyd	Cllr Catherine Miks	
Cllr Zafar Iqbal	Cllr Sybil Spence	
Cllr Gurdial Singh Atwal	Cllr Sybil Spence	
Cllr Ian Kettle	Cllr Peter Miller	
Cllr Peter Hogarth MBE	Cllr David Barrie	
Co-opted Member	Simon Brake	

Audit and Risk Committee 5 members (Lab 3; Con 2) (Plus 1 Independent

Councillor	Substitute
Cllr Catherine Miks (Chair)	Cllr Gavin Lloyd
Cllr Rizwan Jalil (Vice-Chair)	Cllr Zahir Hussain
Cllr Sybil Spence	Cllr Gurdial Singh Atwal
Cllr Peter Miller	Cllr lan Kettle
Cllr David Barrie	Cllr Vera Waters
Independent Member:	
Mr Mike Ager	

Joint Consultative Panel (5 elected members + 5 employee representatives) (Lab 3; Con 2)		
Councillor	Substitute	
Cllr Ann Young (Chair)	Cllr	
Cllr Gavin Lloyd (Vice-Chair)	Cllr Catherine Miks	
Cllr Greg Brackenridge	Cllr Jas Dehar	
Cllr Vera Waters	Cllr Ian Kettle	
Cllr Peter Miller	Cllr David Barrie	

^{*}Please note: if both the original member and substitute are unavailable, then a member of the political party can attend appointed to attend by the Leader of that party.