# WEST MIDLANDS FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

# 25 June 2012

# 1. MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2012/2013

Report of the Clerk and Monitoring Officer

### RECOMMENDED

THAT the report be noted.

## 2. **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To advise of the appointments made by the constituent district councils to the Authority for 2012/2013.

## 3. BACKGROUND

The membership of the Authority for 2012/2013 is as set out in the Appendix.

## 4. EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT

In preparing this report, an initial Equality Impact Assessment is not required and has not been carried out.

## 5. **LEGAL IMPLICATIONS**

Fire and Rescue Authorities were first established by Section 26 of the Local Government Act, 1985, which provides that such authorities shall consist of members appointed by the metropolitan districts comprised in the relevant county. The number of members to be appointed by each district council is set out in Schedule 10 of that Act.

## 6. **FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS**

There are no direct financial implications.

# **Background Papers**

Letters/e mails from district councils.

NEERAJ SHARMA CLERK AND MONITORING OFFICER

IL0: Unclassified

# Membership of the West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority 2012/2013

# Birmingham

Councillor G S Atwal (Labour)	Councillor L Clinton (Labour)	Councillor A Delaney (Conservative)
Councillor N A Eustace	Councillor M Finnegan	Councillor M Idrees*
(Liberal Democrat)	<i>(Labour )</i>	(Labour)
Councillor B Lines	Councillor B O'Reilly	Councillor H Quinnen
(Conservative)	(Labour)	<i>(Labour)</i>
Councillor S Spence (Labour)		·

# Coventry

Councillor K Foster	Councillor S Walsh*	Councillor M Auluck**
(Conservative)	(Labour)	(Labour)

# Dudley

Councillor A Aston	Councillor G Davies*	Councillor T Wright
(Labour)	(Labour)	(Conservative)

# Sandwell

Councillor C Tranter (Labour)	Councillor J Edwards* (Labour)	Councillor T Ward (Independent)

# Solihull

Councillor S Davis*	Councillor P Hogarth
(Conservative)	(Conservative)

### Walsall

	Councillor K Chambers* <i>(Labour)</i>	Councillor A Young** (Labour)
1		

### Wolverhampton

Councillor T Singh**	Councillor J Yardley	Councillor P O'Neill*	
(Labour)	(Conservative)	(Labour)	

\* Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

\*\* Substitute Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

## Independent Member of the Audit Committee

Mr M Ager