WEST MIDLANDS FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

28th June 2010

1. MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2010/2011

Report of the Clerk.

RECOMMENDED

THAT the report be noted.

2. **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To advise of the appointments made by the constituent district councils to the Authority for 2010/2011.

3. BACKGROUND

The membership of the Authority for 2010/2011 is as set out in the Appendix.

4. EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT

In preparing this report, an initial Equality Impact Assessment is not required and has not been carried out.

5. **LEGAL IMPLICATIONS**

Fire and Rescue Authorities were first established by Section 26 of the Local Government Act, 1985, which provides that such authorities shall consist of members appointed by the metropolitan districts comprised in the relevant county. The number of members to be appointed by each district council is set out in Schedule 10 of that Act.

Section 31 of that Act provides that a constituent council may at any time terminate the appointment of a person appointed by it to a joint authority and appoint another member of the Council in his place.

6. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no direct financial implications.

Background Papers

Letters/e mails from district councils.

SUSAN PHELPS CLERK

Membership of the West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority 2010/2011

Birmingham

Councillor J Alden*	Councillor M Bennett	Councillor A Delaney
(Conservative)	(Conservative)	(Conservative)
Councillor N A Eustace** (Liberal Democrat)	Councillor M Hill (Conservative)	Councillor L Clinton (Labour)
Councillor M Idrees	Councillor C Jones	Councillor B Jackson
(Labour)	(Liberal Democrat)	(Liberal Democrat)
Councillor S Spence (Labour)		

Coventry

Councillor T Khan	Councillor K Foster	Councillor K Mulhall *
(Labour)	(Conservative)	(Labour)

Dudley

Councillor G H Davies (Labour)	Councillor J Ryder * (Conservative)	Councillor K Turner (Conservative)

Sandwell

Councillor M S Tagger	Councillor D P Hinton*	Councillor M Docker
(Labour)	(Labour)	(Conservative)

Solihull

Councillor A Hill*	Councillor T Hodgson
(Labour)	(Lib Dem)

Walsall

Councillor B A Douglas-Maul** (Conservative)	Councillor A J A Andrew * (Conservative)	Councillor K Chambers (Labour)

Wolverhampton

Councillor R		Councillor P O'Neill**
Whitehouse	Stevenson*	(Labour)
(Conservative/Lib Dem	(Conservative/Lib Dem	
Coalition)	Coalition)	

* Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

** Substitute Member nominated to answer questions under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985 ("Lead" Member).

Independent Members of the Standards Committee

Mr C Topliss#	Mr D Denny#

Independent Member of the Audit Committee

|--|

Contact details for members of the Fire and Rescue Authority are available on the Authority's web site at <u>www.wmfs.net</u>

subject to approval of appointment by the Authority on 28th June, 2010.